High Tide Aquatics

That's the last time my mom visits my brother

He'll be fine they're only calling for a 6' rise, higher ground is the place to be.

Mom was going to be flying out tomorrow, but somehow I don't think that's going to happen. I know my brother well enough to have confidence that he has secured enough booze and cured pork products by now to sustain them for a while, but I still can't get over the 8.8 thing, holy shit that's huge.

Yikes man that sucks, is the major damaged basically localized? (within a city or two out) or did that tsunami that was triggered do some damage too?

Yea, that's nuts man. Glad to hear everyone is ok. I got a text from my friend on Maui around 8AM sayin the tsunami sirens we're waking everyone up.

I can't imagine 8.8...or I can but don't really want to.

Yeah the east coast of the big island and maui might be the biggest issues, the other islands should be fine since their being 'shielded" but then again I'm by no means an expert on wave dynamics, they could wrap around the island for all I know :D Plus depends how flat the island is, I know on Maui there's that really flat part that cuts right through the island. Hopefully no one trying to take the "Road to Hana" out of there! :O

But yeah 8.8, yikes... CNN is saying 500x more energy than Haiti's

sfsuphysics said:
Yikes man that sucks, is the major damaged basically localized? (within a city or two out) or did that tsunami that was triggered do some damage too?

The tsunami has hit a a few Pacific Islands, but it's still hard to judge, captains have been reporting short interval (for a tsunami at least) pluses.