I'm back!

20230131_110259.jpg

20230131_110248.jpg

20230131_110235.jpg

20230131_110227.jpg

20230131_110200.jpg

20230131_110152.jpg

20230131_110140.jpg

So, the dimming function on my ati fixed itself overnight.
I don't really understand how. Maybe the internal battery on the controller needed a charge without the bulbs being powered? I've been scratching my head about it all morning.

I lowered it back down to about 8" off the water (to reduce light spill on my co-workers desk who insisted on sitting right next to the tank). Both channels at 35% gives me a peak par reading of 125 μmol on the bottom glass with no shading and some reflection off a vertical pane.

Tomorrow I will see what I'm getting on the top of the rocks. I may have to raise the light a little and just build a shroud for it. Lots of aluminum and a tig welder in our hanger so it won't be hard.
I have no specific knowledge here, but observing from afar it sounds like it might make sense to do some more debugging before committing to them working. It sounds like maybe there's something loose or partially broken, and after heating up (or getting bounced around) it connected enough to work. Might make sense to leave it in a safe failure setup for a bit.

Effectively leave it where you assume it's going to fail by going 100% on, and it's safe for that to happen, untill it really proves it's reliable. Maybe also give it a test of what happens if you shake it some, or leave it unplugged for a couple hours/day and see what happens when you power it up again.

My plan first thing this morning was to pull the unit apart and check for corroded or loose connections.

I was trying to demonstrate the issue to a coworker this morning and the intensity pulsing effect from yesterday wasn't happening. I tried a handful of things to trigger it again, including cutting power to the unit for 15 min, and haven't been able to replicate it.